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Kilpapurjehdussaannot
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Kilpapurjehdussaantoihin tulleita muutoksia 2021

- Velvoite hadassa olevien auttamiseen myos tukihenkiloille
- Lahtolinjalla vain veneen rungon pitaa olla lahtohetkella linjan takana
- Saanto 14 (b) on nykyaan saanto 43.1 (c). Kulkuun oikeutetun veneen

vapauttaminen saannon 14 rikkomuksesta. Turvallisuus

- Uusi sdanto 20.4 Lisdvaatimuksia huudolle vastakdanndsta varten. X
Tarvittaessa kasimerkkeja, radio tms.

- Uusi saanto 37 Etsinta ja pelastusohjeet. Kilpailulautakunta nostaa r—
viestilipun V, jolloin velvoite tarkkailla kilpailulautakunnan ikt
kommunikaatiokanavaa etsinta- ja pelastusohjeiden vuoksi. .

- Muutos saantoon 41. Sairaan tai vaarassa olevan miehiston jasenen
pelastamiseen saadusta avusta ei voida hylata mahdollisesti siita
saavutettavasta edusta huolimatta.

- Saanto 48.2 Veneesta pudonneen tai uimaan lahteneen ei tarvitse olla
veneessa ennen kuin vene voi jatkaa purjehdusta kohti seuraavaa
merkkia, mutta taytyy olla kosketuksessa siihen.



RYHMA A KULKUOIKEUS

10 ERI HALSSEILLA

11 SAMALLA HALSSILLA, PEITTO

12 SAMALLA HALSSILLA, EI PEITTOA

13 VASTAKAANNOSTA TEHDESSA
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RYHMA A Kulkuoikeus

10 ERI HALSSEILLA
Kun veneet ovat eri halsseilla, vasemmalla halssilla olevan veneen
taytyy vdistdd oikealla halssilla olevaa venetta.

11 SAMALLA HALSSILLA, PEITTO
Kun veneet ovat samalla halssilla ja peittdvdt toisiaan, tuulen puolen
veneen taytyy vdistdd suojan puolen venetta.

12 SAMALLA HALSSILLA, EI PEITTOA
Kun veneet ovat samalla halssilla eivatka peitd toisiaan, selvdsti perdssd
olevan veneen taytyy vdistdd selvdsti edessd olevaa venetta.

13 VASTAKAANNOSTA TEHDESSA
Sen jialkeen kun vene on ohittanut tuulensilman, sen taytyy vdistdd
muita veneitd, kunnes se on tiukasti vastaisessa suunnassa. Tdna aikana sdannot 10, 11 ja 12 eivat pade.

Jos kaksi venetta on yhtd aikaa timan sdannon alaisena, vasemmalla puolella tai perdssa olevan taytyy
vaistad.



Saantd 10 Eri halsseilla

|Ye||ow should be penalized. Blue is on starboard and Yellow is on port.



Saantd 10 Eri halsseilla

Tack or Cross?

Red should not be penalized, since she kept clear of Green. A boat is keeping clear if the right-of-
way boat (Green) can sail her course. Her course implies the course of her choosing — it specifically

does not say proper course. This is accepted as normal behavior because starboard may choose to

duck due to tactical considerations or for any reason of her choosing.
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Saantdo 10 Eri halsseilla

Starboard Y
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Red should be penalized. Red and Green are on opposite tacks, so Rule 10 applies. Red is on port
and must keep clear of Green. Red mistakenly assumed that Rule 11 applies. Rule 11 - On the Same

Tack, Overlapped, does not apply to boats on opposite tacks.
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Saanto 11 Eri halsseilla !

_ Protest! ) %7
X\
Z’a ,/' \ 3\
/ /,/ A \\
[ 7/
) X v/, 4
 Right of way! >,
T A
\ \".'-//,v "//
&/
A
/./,/‘/
lf/ /}:’4 4

Green should take a penalty. Both boats are on the same tack (port). Neither boat is clear ahead, so
the boats are overlapped. Therefore, Rule 11 applies. Green is the windward boat and must keep

clear of Red.



Saantd 11 Eri halsseilla Blue is in a puff | |

Y Yellow is trying to get to that puff
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Blue should take a penalty. Both boats are on the same tack (starboard[). Neither boat is clear ahead,
so the boats are overlapped. Therefore, Rule 11 applies. Blue is the windward boat and must keep

clear of Yellow.



Saantd 12 Samalla halssilla, ei peittoa
Starting Line

Note: Starting line is to course side
of starting mark, not center of mark
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Blue should take a penalty. Blue is clear astern and must keep clear of Yellow. No other boat broke a

rule. Blue should have turned above Green before location 1. Putting yourself in a position with no
way out doesn’t allow you to be exonerated for fouling someone else. Often, you need to think

pretty far ahead.



Saanto 13 Vastakidannosti tehdessa

Blue should take a penalty. Blue still did not keep clear between the time she passed head to
wind until she was on a close-hauled course.



Saantd 13 Vastakidannosta tehdessa

Starting Line

Blue should take a penalty. Blue did not reach a close-hauled course after passing head to wind. Blue failed to keep clear.



Saantd 13 Vastakidannosta tehdessa

Yellow should take a penalty. Both boats were tacking when contact occurred, since neither had reached a close-hauled course.



Saantd 14 Kosketuksen valttiminen

Blue should be penalized. Blue (on port) did not keep clear. Green (on starboard) started to tack as
obligated by Rule 14 - avoid collisions. The change of course by Green was caused by Blue’s failure

to keep clear under rule 10.



Saanto 15 Kulkuoikeuden saaminen
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Yellow should take a penalty. Yellow did not give Blue room to keep clear. Yellow did not reach
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starboard tack until just before contact at position 3, so Rule 13 (tacking) was in effect until just

before contact. The rules do not recognize hailing as a way to avoid giving room to keep clear.



Saanto 15 Kulkuoikeuden saaminen

( Protesl ' !

Green should take a penalty. Green broke Rule 11 by not keeping clear of Blue (the right-of-way
boat), since Blue could not change course in both directions without immediately making contact.
When acquiring right-of-way over Yellow, Green also broke Rule 15, by not initially giving Yellow

room to keep clear, since Yellow could not head up without contacting Green.



Saanto 16
Suunnan muuttaminen
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No. Rule 16.2 applies. Red was keeping clear to pass astern of Green. At location 2, when Green bore
off, Red had room to keep clear.



Saanto 16
Suunnan muuttaminen @

Yes. Rule 16.1 applies. Green changed course after Red headed up to keep clear. At location 3, when
Green headed up, Red did not have room to keep clear.

Yes. Red broke Rule 10 by not keeping clear of Green, but she is exonerated since she did so because of
Green’s actions. This is in accordance with Rule 43 — Exoneration.



Saanto 16
Suunnan muuttaminen

Yellow should take a penalty. Rule 16.1 applies. Yellow is the right of way boat, but did not give Blue

room to keep clear. Yellow turned so fast that Blue couldn’t respond promptly and in a seamanlike
way. At location 3, Blue broke Rule 11, but is exonerated since she broke Rule 11 because of

Yellow’s actions. See Rule 21 (a).



Saanto 16
Suunnan muuttaminen

\

Yellow should take a penalty. Both boats are on the same tack (starboard). The boats are not

overlapped. Therefore, Rule 12 applies. Yellow is clear astern and must keep clear of Blue.

Blue did not break Rule 16. Rule 16.1 states, “When a right-of-way boat changes course she shall
give the other boat room to keep clear.” As described in U.S. Sailing Appeals, Question 33, changing
course refers to changing direction, not speed. Yellow was following too close to be able to keep

clear.



Saanto 17
Samalla halssilla; Oikea suunta

17 SAMALLA HALSSILLA; OIKEA
SUUNTA

Jos selvdsti perdssd oleva vene saa peiton
enintddn kahden rungonpituutensa
ctaisyydelld samalla halssilla olevaan
veneeseen timan

suojan puolelta, se ei saa purjehtia oikeaa
suuntaansa ylemmaksi

niin kauan kuin veneet pysyvit samalla
halssilla ja peittdavdt toisiaan

talla etaisyydella, ellei se ndin tehdessidan
viipymattd purjehdi toisen

veneen peran taakse. Tama sadnto ei pade,
jos peitto alkaa silloin kun

saianto 13 vaatii tuulen puolen venetta
vdistamdaan.
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Saanto 18.2
Merkkitilan antaminen

Yes, Yellow is required to give mark-room to Blue. The boats were overlapped when the first boat

(Yellow) entered the zone. Rule 18.2(b) applies.



Saanto 18.2
Merkkitilan antaminen

No, Blue is not required to give mark-room to Yellow. Blue is clear ahead of Yellow when Blue enters
the zone. Rule 18.2(b) applies. Since Blue was clear ahead, the clear astern boat (Yellow) is required

to give Blue mark-room.



Saanto 18.2
Merkkitilan antaminen

Yellow should promptly take a penélty. When Yellow entered the zone, Blue was overlapped with
Green and Green was overlapped with Yellow. Therefore, Blue was overlapped with Yellow. Rule
18.2(b) applies, and Yellow was required to give mark-room to both Green and Blue. Blue may have

broken Rule 14, avoiding contact, but would be exonerated since there was no damage.
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Saanto 18.2
Merkkitilan antaminen

Yes, Yellow is required to give mark-room to Blue. Blue is overlapped with Yellow when Blue enters
the zone. Rule 18.2(b) applies. As the outside boat, Yellow is required to give Blue mark-room. This

situation illustrates the effect of widely diverging angles when determining overlap.



Saanto 18.3
Tuulensilman ohittaminen
vyohykkeessa

Blue is not required to take a penalty. Blue is able to cross ahead of Yellow on port while keeping
clear. Rule 18.3 applies after Blue tacks to starboard and Yellow becomes overlapped inside of Blue.

Blue gave Yellow mark-room as required by Rule 18.3.



Saanto 18.3
Tuulensilman ohittaminen
vyohykkeessa

Blue is not required to take a penalty. Blue tacks to starboard within the zone, so Rule 18.3 applies.
However, Blue did not cause Yellow to sail above close-hauled to avoid contact, since Yellow was

reaching into the mark.



Saanto 18.3
Tuulensilman ohittaminen _\" §
vyOhykkeessé Sy

|
Damn, shoulg of f
guckeg!
= ® )\ Rule18.3
55‘ PROTEST!

N

/ \

Yes, Blue should promptly take a penalty. Since Blue tacked from port to starboard in the zone and
was fetching the mark, Rule 18.3 applies. Yellow had been on starboard since entering the zone.

Blue’s actions caused Yellow to sail above close-hauled. Therefore, Blue broke Rule 18.3.
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Saanto 18.4
Jiippaaminen

Layline is here S XK T |
Time to Gybe o s

To Next Mark

Yes, Yellow should promptly take a pe'nalty. Yellow was the inside overlapped boat and needed to
gybe to sail her proper course (to the mark). Therefore, Rule 18.4 applies. Yellow is required to sail
no further than her proper course before gybing. Since Yellow went past the layline (i.e., she sailed

farther than necessary before gybing), Yellow broke Rule 18.4.



Saanto 18.4 Jiippaaminen. Saanto ei pade porttimerkilla

We are sailing
past layline!
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Ryhman C (MERKEILLA JA ESTEILLA) eivat koske purjehduskelpoisen veden
ymparoimaa lahtomerkkia lahdettaessa.

Blue is not required to give Yellow room to pass inside the RC boat. The preamble to Section C states
that the rules of Section C do not apply at a starting mark surrounded by navigable water or at its

anchor line from the time boats are approaching them to start until they have passed them.



Saanto 19.2 Tilan antaminen esteella

Course to next mark
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Yellow is not required to sail to leeward of the obstruction. Rule 19.2 states, in part, that the right-
of-way boat may choose to pass an obstruction on either side. Yellow is the right-of-way boat

(leeward).



Saanto 19.2
Tilan antaminen esteella

Blue did not break Rule 19.2. Rule 19.2 states, in part, that the right-of-way boat may choose to pass

an obstruction on either side. Blue is the right-of-way boat (leeward).

Blue could not duck while forcing Green to tack. Rule 19.2 (b) requires the outside overlapped boat
to give the inside boat room between her and the obstruction. Once Blue decides to duck, she must

give Green room to duck.



Saanto 19.2
Tilan antaminen esteella

Leeward Boat,
Room at the
Continuing obstruction

Yellow is not required to give room to Blue. The boats are passing the shore, which is a continuing
obstruction. Blue was clear astern and became overlapped inside without room to pass. Therefore,

Rule 19.2(c) applies, and Blue is not entitled to room under Rule 19.2 (b).



Saantd 19 TILA ESTEEN OHITTAMISEEN )
Saantd 20 TILA VASTAKAANNOKSEEN ESTEELLA

19.2 b) Tilan antaminen esteella

20.1 Huutaminen

20.2 Vastaaminen

20.3 Huudon valittaminen seuraavalle veneelle

. m

You tack!
‘5 \ Rule19 & 20

20.2 (b) Huudon kohteena olleen veneen taytyy \
reagoida, vaikka se rikkoisi saantoa 20.1

Room to
Room to tack!
Rule 18 & 20
\F’ule 1 Rule 12 \




RYHMA D Muut sdannot

21 LAHTOVIRHEET; RANGAISTUKSEN SUORITTAMINEN;
PURJEEN PAKITTAMINEN

21.1 Kun vene lahtoviestinsa jalkeen purjehtii kohti 1ahtolinjan tai sen
jommankumman jatkeen lahtopuolta ldhtedkseen tai noudattaakseen
saantod 30.1, sen taytyy vdistdd venettd, joka ei ole samassa tilanteessa,
kunnes sen runko on kokonaan ldhtopuolella.

21.2 Kun vene suorittaa rangaistusta, sen taytyy vdistdd venetta, joka ei
suorita rangaistusta.

21.3 Kun purjeen pakittamisen seurauksena vene litkkuu veteen ndhden

takaperin tai sivuttain tuulenpuolelle, sen taytyy vdistdd venetta, joka
e1 litku siten.



Saanto 21.1
Lahtovirheet .
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RYHMA D Muut sdannot

22 KAATUNEENA, ANKKURISSA TAI KARILLA;PELASTUSTOIMISSA
Mikali mahdollista, veneen on véltettdva venettd, joka on kaatunut tai joka ei viela ole
hallinnassa kaatumisen jalkeen, on ankkurissa tai karilla taikka joka yrittad auttaa
vaarassa olevaa henkiloa tai alusta. Vene on kaatunut, kun sen mastonhuippu on vedessa.

23 TOISEN VENEEN HAIRITSEMINEN
23.1 Mikali kohtuullisesti mahdollista, vene joka ei kilpaile, ei saa hairita kilpailevaa
venetta.

23.2 Mikali kohtuullisesti mahdollista, vene e1 saa hiiritd venetti, joka suorittaa
rangaistusta, purjehtii eri rataosuutta tai sidnnon 21.1 alaisena. Tama saanto ei
kuitenkaan pade lahtoviestin jalkeen, kun vene purjehtii oikeaa suuntaansa.



Casebook 2021-2024
Case 36, rule 49.2

- Asennot 1, 2 ja 3 ok

- Asento 4 ok, jos veneessa on
kaksi kaidevaijeria

- Asennot 5 ja 6 kiellettyja.




